Reality and Narcissism

The Egghead Agenda

When Apryl was four years old, her dad and I bought her an ice cream cone at Dairy Queen and as soon as we handed it to her, she threw it on the ground and asked for another. I wasn’t going to give in because I knew she was just testing me to see if I’d bow to her every demand. She was always trying to see what she could get away with, see if she could get a reaction out of me. I wasn’t giving in. She threw her ice cream cone on the ground, she doesn’t get another. Too bad. Maybe she’ll learn for next time.

My mother told this story, and others like it, constantly. At church, at school, at holiday gatherings. All these stories about how I was this selfish little shit trying to push her buttons all the time, trying to get her to do…

View original post 743 more words

Leave a Reply

